Shaftesbury CC 50-mile TT 1:52:23

Another warm day for this fast 50-mile TT on the Newmarket bypass (the A11/A14), although maybe not quite as warm as last year (and certainly not as windless). I needed to get a decent 50 under my wheels, for completeness sake, if nothing else.

It wasn’t the best of days, a bit breezy, and quite a few DNS’s on the board but I gave it a go. I don’t think I really had the confidence to push on having missed a few key training sessions with my achilles problems, so my time wasn’t too bad considering. I’d been the 23rd fastest entrant and ended up 27th. I definitely struggled to hold a good power on the way back from Red Lodge, into the wind, but still managed to have little dig for the last 5 miles.

Thanks to Davey Jones for the photo

First turn at 4-Went-Ways, 5 miles done

