ECCA 100-mile TT 4:01:44

Another week of very easy miles on the bike, plus a bit of swimming, seemed to revive me and I had more confidence going into this 100-mile TT, although a bit of me was doubting why I was bothering since my BBAR challenge was likely off without a 12-hour. Nevertheless, I got up for this super-early starting 100-miler and felt like I had a pretty good ride. Maybe a bit quick for the opening 40 miles, but I still had something in hand for the last tricky 8 miles of B-road back to the timekeeper. Unfortunately, right at that point I got bad cramp in my left calf and I struggled with it all the way to the finish (I’ve often had problems with cramp in long distance races, but forgot to dose up with the tonic water that usually cures it in the days before this 100). It probably cost me a 3:59 clocking, ah well. Tejvan Pettinger won it it 3:41, and there were quite a few strong performances this year so I was well down the field in 26th place. Nevertheless a good rehearsal for the National 100-mile TT in two weeks.

10 miles in, a full camelbak on my back. New Python RT skinsuit. I didn't bother with overshoes so as not to irritate my achilles

10 miles in, a full camelbak on my back. New Python RT skinsuit. I didn’t bother with overshoes so as not to irritate my achilles

