Oxonian CC 50-mile TT 1:59:56

This timetrial was a bit of a target for me. There would be quite a few decent local riders taking part, there was an Oxford City RC trophy up for grabs, and I felt like I’d got some decent training under my wheels in July.

We had a reasonable day for it, just a bit of a headwind down to the Shrivenham turn on the H50/17. I decided to go a bit harder on that section and try to recover a little on the way back, hoping to have enough in the tank for the second run down to the far turn. I had zip-tied a bottle cage between the aero bars for a drink, triathlete-style, but wore my old skinsuit as the chamois was a bit thicker, offering more comfort for 2 hours in the saddle.

The plan to go hard into the wind just about worked out, I took it reasonably steadily, overtaking a few riders nevertheless. Ahead of me Rob West was powering along and quite clearly going to take the Club cup unless he had a disaster later on. I was quite surprised to see how difficult it was to maintain constant effort on the second lap of the A420 and started to fade through those last 10 miles back to the timekeeper but it didn’t affect my time/placing too much, as we all had a tailwind on that section anyway. Coming back through the roundabout at Southmoor for the last time, I could see it would be touch and go to get under 2 hours and then, with 400m to go, the eventual winner Tejvan Pettinger passed me, just as I was really having to dig in.  I pressed stop on my ‘puter and although I didn’t have it as a particular target, was pleased to see I’d beaten 2 hours by just 4 seconds.

An in-form Rob West took the OCRC Broadribb Cup with a fine 1h53, and with Paul Hardy backing us up in 2h12, we clipped 1:45 off the old OCRC team 50 record.

NP 244W. HR158(172). Link to result.  Strava link [here]

