Ben Owen 10-mile TT. 23:46

Originally I’d hoped my easy year would include not having to represent Oxford City Road Club at the inter-club Ben Owen 10, but with various injuries and a few people moving away, I ended up nominating myself for the team. Organized  by Didcot Phoenix CC on the new Stadhampton 10 course, at least I’d know the territory. I’d thought about keeping the Hed 6/9 combo on my bike from the weekend’s 100-miler but the weather looked like it might be damp so I rolled out the Rolf Vigors instead. In the end it wasn’t too bad an evening.

I managed a respectable time, but slowest of our team and we were pipped for 2nd place by Fairly United CT by just one second. Banjo Cycles walked away with the fastest team prize and Ian Greenstreet (Newbury RC) smoked a 21:54 on this lumpy course (the road surface is poor, let alone the climb to the turn). I felt like I’d paced it well, and certainly had enough left to stomp on the pedals for the final 5 minutes back “up” the Chalgrove straight to the timekeeper. A heart rate of 158, climbing to 167, certainly showed I tried hard. Excellent cake selection back at the HQ. I hung about to chat, and cheer the winners, before slapping some lights on my bike for the trundle back home.

[Mick’s Results page] [Strava]

