Herts Wheelers 30-mile TT – 1:07:28

Another distance to add to the list I’m riding this year. There’s a nice little club cup for this one too, so it’s worth a ride. I wasn’t feeling too confident of my form, but driving over to Tempsford for the early morning start the weather was looking promising, if a little cold. A good excuse to keep my thin leg warmers on, over my as-yet unshaved legs. I was back on my geared bike for this one, as it was likely I’d only get one ride  at 30 miles done this year and wanted to make a half-decent effort at it – I’m still not confident I can ride my fixed bike anywhere near as fast.

I think my tentative start played into my hands and gave me a good pacing strategy – certainly I felt like I had plenty left in the tank for the last 10 miles south, back to the timekeeper, although a slight tailwind at this point helped too. Anyway, it was a nice surprise to stop the clock at 1:07:28 – 20 seconds faster than my ride on the H30/8 last year. I’d been caught with a mile to go by the eventual winner of the event (1:03:16) and he commented afterwards that I’d been a good “carrot” for him to focus on. I was 9th fastest [Garmin Connect file HERE]

Davey Jones was there, taking pictures as usual. They were fantastic – he’d upgraded his kit over the winter: A Canon 5D MkIII and 70-200mm f2.8 lens!

