Cycle 91km. Club run to Burford

AM. Cycle 91km, steady, HR134(163)

Met up with Cy, Claire and Jake at Martyrs’ Memorial for a steady run through the Cotswolds to Burford. We went via Eynsham to pick up Clive on the way, although without using the Farmoor road as that’s closed for resurfacing this week (hurrah!). We used the cycle track along the A40 instead, and then after Eynsham wound our way through the lanes to Burford. I got quite warm and shed a base layer at the top of one long climb, it gave a chance for a couple of us to peel off a layer or two. I was navigating my GPS as it’s been quite a while since I’ve ridden out this way, but I ought to do more there though – the roads are constantly up and down and good training.

After a cream tea at the Copper Kettle we headed back following the Windrush valley, skirted around the top of Witney and back to the A40 at Eynsham, much of it into a rising headwind. I was getting pretty hot by the end and glad to get back home.

Shocked to hear of the death of Marco Simoncelli at today’s Moto GP race. He was one of the sport’s rising stars, hugely talented, a real character and a very fast, exciting rider to watch.

