Derby Mercury 25-mile TT

PM. Cycle 54km inc. Derby Mercury RC 25-mile TT (course A25/11)

9km w/u
25 miles: 54:14 (27.658mph) ___ HR 165(171)
5km w/d

Nice relaxed day, sorted out my insurance for PBP and faffed about a bit in town before the late afternoon drive to Etwall. It was looking a bit breezy so I left the trispoke in the car and rode with my JET6 on the front. Bit of a struggle to the far turn, but the 12.1-mile run back to the finish was a blinder – I averaged 30.5mph. I was never going to get near a PB in those sort of conditions so I was pleased to update my season’s best. Matt Botrill won it with a speedy 47:42! I’d ridden this event rather than tomorrow’s 25 on the fast Welsh course to give myself Sunday to do some decent training, although I reckon the weather could be good in Wales tomorrow for some fast times.

Late drive home, just enough time to catch up with Jules (who’d been with the Red Cross at Newbury race course all day) over a beer or two when I got in.

