Cycle 201km

Cycle 201km. Winchester and back, steady, HR125(151)

I’d booked the day off and it turned out to be a great day for a ride. Left the house just before 8am, needed arm warmers for the first hour and a half, but not after that. I followed the my usual route, along Audax Middle Road to Winchester and back. Passing through Overton, there was some sort of scarecrow competition going on in the coming weekend – there were loads of them dotted all around the town, and they made me laugh, although some were a bit creepy too. Here are a few of them:

     

I turned quickly at Winchester and stopped for lunch on the way back, at Kingsclere. Had a sandwich and cake sitting on the village green, under the shade of a tree. It was a nice relaxed day on the bike. I got stopped at the canal bridge in Aldermarston on the way back. It was just being raised as I got there. Had a 10-minute wait while some boats went through, but I was still home by half-three:

