Run 9km + club 10-mile TT

AM. Run 9km/43, steady, HR142(162?)

Lower back a bit sore, not sure why. Nice morning though.

PM. Cycle 70km, inc. Club 10-mile TT, Witney bypass (H10/181), HR116(159)

Ride to event + w/u 29km
10 miles: 23:25 __ HR154(159)
Ride home 25km

[Results]

Hard into the wind to the turn, and flying back. A pretty poor effort – I was slower than on the Stadhampton course last Thursday, although less aero with a standard road helmet on this time. Legs hammered from the morning run, I guess – I couldn’t work hard enough to get my heart rate up anywhere near my usual for a “10” – but it was good to go out and make the effort. Mark Jones was fastest – 20:40-something.

New frame
Spent a bit of time yesterday sorting through the myriad Chinese carbon fibre frames for sale on eBay, but eventually found one that had similar dimensions to my old 853 race frame, and a standard seatpost (rather than one-piece “integrated” – not so handy if you ever want to pack the thing for flying etc.). Bought the frame/fork/seatpost/headset combo from this Chinese manufacturer; size 52, which gives me a short enough headtube, but just about long enough top tube. £275 including postage which is an absolute bargain, it’ll be interesting to see what arrives in the post!

