Cycle 36km + Mota-vation race 2

PM. Cycle 36km, easy, to race and back. HR109(139)

PM. Run 10km, inc. Mota-vation race 2, Bletchingdon, hard

2½km w/u
4 miles 451 yds (6.85km)/
26:30 (6:13 min/mi) __ HR161(173)
1km w/d

Mile splits 5:57/6:07/6:11/6:30+1:42 [Results]

Good race, although I wasn’t feeling particularly “up for it” when I warmed up. Got off to a bit of a slow start in the middle of the bunch but slowly reeled in Andrew Pike, who was a bit of a target for me last year, and passed him around the end of the first (downhill) mile. Roy Treadwell, who I’d had a great tussle with in race 1, was 100m ahead and I never quite got back to him despite trying hard in the 2nd and 3rd miles, maybe a little too hard. Struggled a bit up the climb on the way back through mile 4, but hung on OK for the finish.

After the race I had a bit of a chat to both Roy (about joining Oxford City AC for some winter cross-country racing – I’ve really started to enjoy my running over the last couple of years and might take it further) and Julien l’Homme about cycling club runs. He’d run the London marathon in 2:33, and was “feeling a bit tired”. He was still up with the leaders though!

