Cycle 47km. Stadhampton 10-mile TT

PM. Cycle 47km, inc. Stadhampton 10-mile club TT, hard, HR123(160)

19km ride out + w/u
10miles: 24:57, HR154(160)
11.5km ride home

[Results]

I decided not to bother packing the trike in the back of the car and heading over to Tring for the VC10 club event, the weather didn’t look too great. Shame, because I found out later that the new course there once again came up trumps, despite the average conditions. Ralph Dadswell, who I can usually pip by a few seconds in a 10, recorded a lifetime PB of 22:55 on his trike. I’ll have to get over there sometime.

The ride out to Stadhampton was cool and breezy. I got a mid-field start, paced the first half into the wind a bit too casually with legs still a bit tired from last night’s hilly run and didn’t really get going until I’d done 10 minutes and got through Cuxham on the way out. Threw everything I had (not much, as it transpired) at the return leg and just nipped under 25 minutes to finish 7th. Not too bad – I was on my winter spoked wheels and the only guy in the top 10 or 15 wearing a standard road helmet.

