Cycle 73km. Hardwick 10-mile TT

PM. Cycle 73km, inc. Club 10-mile TT, Hardwick

33½km w/u
10 miles. 23:39 (25.370mph/40.829km/h) __ HR155(159)
23½km w/d

[9th. Mark Jones 1st, 21:24. Results]

First outing for my new Trek TTX, it got quite a few admiring looks at the signing-on. I rode it out from home, it takes ages to drive to Hardwick at that time of the evening. The bike felt good – a little quicker steering than my old Dolan, not sure how that’ll pan out for the longer distances. Over the bumps I could hear the cables bouncing against the insides of the frame tubes which took some getting used to. The AX600 front brake was pretty poor though despite fitting new brake blocks – not confidence inspiring for the ride in the traffic out of town – I need to do some more work on that!

The TT itself went OK. It started to get cold by the time we were off. Mark Jones was no. 1 and I was no. 2. He’d already taken a minute out of me at the turn, so it was game over. I was conscious of hitting the limit, backing off, then hitting the limit again, and the last minute or two was fairly painful. That’s not too bad a time for me on this course though, just my normal road helmet and no disc. Very sore throat when I’d got home – that cold air didn’t do it any good.

