Cycle 81km + The King’s Speech

AM. Cycle 81km, steady, HR135(156)

Got up early to cruise around Appleton/Appleford. Very windy and a bit drizzly, I had to stop at the side of the road just to open a cereal bar without getting blown into the gutter. As I crossed the Thames at Nuneham Courtney, I saw runners crossing the other way, on the Thames Trot 50.

The King’s Speech
We went to see this this afternoon at the Ultimate Picture Palace. It was a full house, great for that little cinema. I really enjoyed the film, an engrossing plot that just flowed. Great acting ensemble, Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush were truly believable and I was surprised to see Guy Pearce doing a fantastic plummy English accent for Edward VII. The speech by George VI at the end, the climax of the film, I don’t know why but I found it very moving. No idea what the Coen brother’s True Grit is like, but this must surely be a contender for many Oscars.

