Cycle 103km, club run to Henley

AM. Cycle 103km, steady, HR133(164) asc. 725m

Blimey, it was cold start today – my outside thermometer was reading 1C as I got ready to lead today’s club run. I rolled up at Martyr’s memorial a few minutes before 9am, and we only had a few people waiting. Last year there had been upwards of 20 people on this ride, but maybe quite a few of them were tempted by Flavio Zappi’s cafe run. Five off us set off soon after 9am, bound for Henley, via the Stadhampton “10” course and the long climb of the A40 at Stokenchurch (7:59, some way off a fast pace!). It was a pretty steady affair, and we picked up another random rider from Thame along the way. He asked if he could tag along and we didn’t mind so he stopped with us at the cafe (Henley Tea Rooms, on the river front) in Henley. The sun came out and it was a beautiful morning.

I’d noticed at the stop that my rear mudguard was getting a bit battered on the way into Henley and it had nearly split in two by the time we stopped. Not long outside Nuffield on the way home it completely broke in two. We stopped in case John had some tape in his saddlebag to effect a repair, but he didn’t. I only had some zipties – not much use. It wasn’t going anywhere though and just made quite a racket all the way home. I taped it up later, and will have to get another one to replace it. I suspect that I wasn’t careful enough when I fitted it and it was slightly too close to the tyre, something I should’ve been more careful of on a bike with full mudguard clearance.

