Cycle 47km + A Dog in a Hat

PM. Cycle 47km, Clare Hill, easy, HR115(150)

After a week of rest days, I was itching to get out on my bike. I took it easy, but to be honest, I couldn’t manage anything else. The tendon on the outside of my left ankle was very painful on anything but the smoothest road surfaces, and it wasn’t much fun getting out of the saddle or unclipping for junctions. For all the pain though, it was good to get the ankle moving and the blood flowing to the injury.

A Dog in a Hat
Jules bought me this for my birthday. I polished it off last night, having read it in less than a day. It’s a warts-and-all tale of Joe Parkin’s attempt to break into the big time as a pro bike rider (website here, I’ve been dipping into his blog, 6 Years in a Rain Cape for some time). A riveting read, because he almost makes it, but becomes a bit of a journeyman rider for various Belgian teams along the way. I think all cyclists can identify with the constant striving to be a bit faster, win more. Thoroughly recommended!

