Cycle 34km + new MTB

PM. Cycle 34km. Otmoor, easy. HR 119(146)

Easy pootle round the Oakley road race circuit again. Flippin’ cold again today, nasty easterly wind. There was still a bit of ice about in the puddles through Stanton-St-John. Will it ever warm up? New gears playing up – the cable seems to have stretched a bit since I set them up last week. I adjusted them when I got home.

New mountain bike
Picked up my cheapie eBay mountain bike in the evening. Looks OK for my needs, classic Specialized red paint, covered in crappy stickers, it has a fairly basic Rock Shox suspension fork and v-brakes (which I know won’t be fantastic in the great British mud, but I’m not too bothered), but everything works OK and the chain’s seen some oil over the years. Not too heavy, thankfully, it was probably state-of-the-art 10 years ago. Quite surprised to find it’s got 9 speed gears. It needs a bit of a clean and a brush up and a slightly longer seatpost for me, and then it’ll be good to go. Good, cheap and fun. Cool. Here’s the eBay pic, I’ll get a better one later:

72.3kg

