Watford ½ marathon

AM. Run 23½km inc. Watford Half marathon

1½km w/u
Half marathon: 1:31:40 (7:00 mi/mile), brisk, HR157(171)
0.8km w/d

Route: http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=2530623
Results: http://www.sportsystems.co.uk/ss/resultsEvent.htm?eventId=319

Ended up going down the pub last night and having five pints of Breakspear, so not feeling as fresh as I could be for this event. I’ve missed some mileage in January, so it was only ever going to be a steady run out for me. I’ll save a big effort for Milton Keynes in a month.

Bumped into and old friend Errol Maginley in the HQ, he was running with some mates who were planning on doing the London marathon later in the year, but this would be his longest race, and “Savaloy” from the tritalk forum on the start line. I was aware that I only needed to treat this as a steady, fast training run – if I went too hard I could do more damage to my long-term plans than good. I set off at a pace about 15-20 seconds slower per mile than my “usual” half marathon pace. This felt very comfortable and I got to halfway in 46:18, running the second half in 45:22.

Very enjoyable, I was surprised how just a little easing in my usual race pace made the running much easier. No hanging on for the last mile or sore feet. My calves stiffened up a bit,  but will be fine in a day or two.

72.9kg

