Cycle 14km, MTB

PM. Cycle 14km, MTB with Jules. HR107(141)

It was thawing out rapidly all day. After Chris had dropped off his old mountain bike with me so I could go out with Jules, I cycled down to the Cowley road to run a few errands while Jules went ice-skating. After lunch we went out on mountain bikes, Jules on her new one and me on Chris’ machine. I planned to take us down the towpath from Donnington Bridge. As soon as the path got uneven though, I jarred my back – the other side from the one that had been giving me pain over the last couple of weeks – and had to stop for a moment to catch my breath, it was agony. We pushed on down the path until we ground to a halt in a very muddy, flooded section and I jarred my back again. This time I knew I couldn’t do any more. The next bit of path was still underwater with ice and slush so we turned around and headed back home.

After rinsing the worst of the mud off the bikes and our clothes, I spent the rest of the evening on the sofa, in pain with my lower back and scarcely able to move. Ibruprofen and a couple of beers helped, but only marginally, it was very uncomfortable.

74.5kg

