Cycle 104km. Club run to Henley

AM. Cycle 104km (27.4km/h) steady, HR144(172) asc. 795m

My turn to lead the club run, on a ride to Henley. I was quite glad of the extra hour in bed this morning as the clocks went back, after a late night last night.

There were plenty of bodies out, maybe twenty or more, so John suggested we split into two groups with me taking the faster group, but this didn’t work out in practice – especially when I got dropped on the climb we encountered after Clare Hill and John didn’t! They did wait for me at the top of the climb to Stokenchurch though, and we rode together into Henley. I was flat out in zone 3 or 4 most of the way there – hard work!

Most of us stopped at the cafe for refreshment while Flavio Zappi led a small group on a half-hour diversion and then came back to pick us up. The return journey was not without incident – there was a halt for a puncture and then a short while after the Maharjah’s Well three riders crashed on a tricky descent. While we were straightening ourselves out, a couple of cyclists freewheeled past. The one in front was wearing full GB kit and as she passed I recognised her (as did a couple of others amongst us) as Rebecca Romero! The remainder of the ride went OK, although a passing storm meant we got a bit wet in the last few kilometres.

74.4kg

