Chippenham half marathon

AM. Run 22½km total. Chippenham half marathon (http://www.chippenhamhalfmarathon.co.uk/)

1½km w/u
13.1 miles 1:26:21 (6:35 min/mile) HR 166(173)
no warm-down – left calf too stiff
splits: 5 miles 32:18; 10 miles 1:04:50

Feeling very tired when I answered the call of my alarm clock for the drive to Chippenham. My legs were feeling very stiff, but I hoped that today would be a good training run, if nothing else. As well as that I’d put on a bit more weight so I decided not to wear my racing shoes although originally this was going to be a dress-rehearsal for the marathon set-up.

After a bit of a warm-up and a chat to a fellow runner from Headington Road Runners, we were down to the start and soon off. I had a steady start, but found myself going through 2 miles in 12:50, the same as in the Watford Half. I was finding a 6:33-6:35 pace very comfortable which was great, so I stuck at that, reeling in faster-starting groups in front of me – a good feeling. I was hoping I’d be able to step up the pace in the last couple of hillier miles but coming into the last mile or so my left calf suddenly stiffened up and I only jogged the last bit, probably lost me 20 to 30 seconds and the chance to dip into the 1:25s. Finished in 64th place, which seems pretty good. I hope my calf stiffness doesn’t cost me much training.

71.9kg

