Swim 3500m + run 7½km + OCRC meeting

AM. Swim 3500m, steady

Pool prettty crowded this morning. People catching up from the weekend’s break I guess.

PM. Run 7½km/37, easy jog, HR136(145)

Went out for a very easy jog. Breaking in a new pair of running shoes – another pair of Asics Gel 1120. They’re quite an old model now, but I stocked up on a few pairs when they were being discounted and newer models (1130, 1140) were being brought on the market. My last pair have done about 850km, so the midsole’s at the end of its life. This new pair felt very bouncy by comparison, it’ll take my legs a few runs to get used to them. I also took delivery of a pair of New Balance 150 from eBay today (a bargain £9.99). Racing flats – there’s almost nothing to them and no heel lift at all – they’ll get used for faster paced work.

OCRC committe meeting
Went to my cycling club’s committee meeting this evening. It got a bit bogged down in a discussion of handicapping tables (yawn). I’ve taken over the running of our club’s open 10-mile TT next year though – I felt like I ought to be contributing that at least, I’ve not done so much this year (apart from some club TT marshalling). I was thinking about running it on a new course that’s recently been measured on the A43 north of Bicester, but I reckon it’ll be easier to organise on our usual H10/17R course, the A420 Southmooor bypass. I might, however, go for a spin along the new course one quiet morning and see how fast it is.

70.3kg

