Swim 2100m & cycle 71km inc. Danny’s Brill circuit

AM. Swim 2100m

500m warm up, then working on leg drills and arm catch-ups, and slowing up the number of strokes to 18-19 per length. Did 8 lengths breaststroke and 8 lengths backstroke in there too. Didn’t do much work on my tumble-turns – something for next time maybe.

PM. Cycle 71km, brisk. HR 137(168 )

inc. Brill circuit: 47.5km/1:39:47, 28.6km/h (climb: 616m) HR 138(168 )

Had the afternoon off work, so went out for a bike ride. Couldn’t be bothered to do anything too lengthy, so I went for a lap of Danny Axford’s hilly Brill circuit from a couple of years ago in the Comic. Gmap of the circuit: http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=2376220. Took it fairly steady (a quick time would be 1:35), especially as the roads (as always at this time of year) were covered in a thin film of mud where farmers have been tilling fields and then driving along the lanes. Rear wheelspin aplenty when I was out of the saddle on the climbs, which limited the amount of effort I could put through the pedals and forced me to be a bit smoother. I set the altimeter function on my HRM, and unlike the old one, it seemed to work OK, only 5m of drift by the time I’d got home. 770m total ascent.

71.8kg

