Run 10km & Weights 1h10 & Joy Division

Lunchtime. Run 10k/45 steady. HR 145(156)

Stiff legs from yesterday’s wet ride (why do your muscles always suffer so much more after a wet ride?).

While running I drifted off thinking about the film I took myself to see yesterday afternoon: Into The Shadow Of The Moon. Stirring stuff for one who grew up in the exciting era of the Apollo missions, I had a lump in my throat at the end. Although these were USAF test pilots, made of the “right stuff” and strong as steel, many of them had to admit that there was a deeply spiritual aspect to what they were doing, and it clearly affected their lives afterwards. I was quite amused to see that they also paid a little lip service to the question of whether it was faked or not. I mean, come on, it’s not something you have to believe in, like Father Christmas, God or the Tooth Fairy, it actually happened. Anyway, even if you’re not an astronomy/science geek, you’ll get something out of the tales that are told and the characters that emerge. There’s a nice little “Green” message at the end too.

Came down to earth with a bump when I saw a biker funeral procession making its way along the bypass.

PM. Weights 1h10. Abs & chest

Similar workout to Friday 30th

Off to see “Control” tonight. I thought I’d missed it coming to Oxford, but the Ultimate Picture Palace came up trumps and is showing it all week :-)  When I first heard Joy Division on John Peel’s show back at the beginning of the 80s, it felt like I’d had their music in my head all the time. Fantastic.

The picture on the cover of the Closer album is from the Cimitero Monumentale di Staglieno in Genoa, Italy. I’d love to go visit it some time. Maybe next year?

Decades
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=mAdFqinrbWQ&feature=related

72.9kg

