Run 15½km, “Into The Wild”

Run 15.5k/1:12 steady. HR 158(168).

The forecast was for wind and rain, so a lie-in and a longish run seemed favoured, although when I stepped out the door it was merely warm and windy. Got a bit too hot, so a high HR resulted. Glad I wasn’t on my bike when I encountered 15 minutes of horizontal rain.

Into The Wild
Went to see this last night. It’s rather good, probably the first thing I’ve seen directed by Sean Penn. Liked the themes within – there are occasional shots of a skein of geese, used to suggest the onward movement of the story, and of the main character. It’s not clear what McCandless is searching for, although he seems to be running away from troubles at home, much as the hippies he meets do. Early on in the film he states “Some people feel like they don’t deserve love. They walk away quietly into empty spaces, trying to close the gaps of the past” and that seems to be a parable for what follows in the film. There are also religious undertones – one of the hippies he meets asks him if he’s jesus – and there seems to be something of the quality of a pilgrimage about his journey, although ultimately he ends up as a bit of an innocent lost in a landscape he doesn’t recognise or respect. Perhaps the message is both about finding excitement in the landscape around you as much as in the people you encounter.

Love thy Neighbour
Ok, so it’s not one of the Ten Commandments, but it struck me today out running, as I passed many churches surrounded by so many parked cars, why do christians drive to church? Love Thy Neighbour, not Thy Neighbour’s Earth…

There’s a bit of a link here, but I’m not sure I’ve got the energy to write it down right now, bah.

72.3kg

